Part 2 Articles of the Constitution



Article 7: Regulatory Bodies, Committees, Panels and Working Groups

7.1 Regulatory Bodies

The Council will appoint the following bodies:

Development Management Committee Number of councillors: 12

Licensing Committee Number of councillors: 12

These bodies will discharge the functions described in the Delegation Scheme (Part 3).

7.2 Standing Committees

The Council will appoint the following standing Committees and Panels:

Audit Committee

Number of councillors: 5

Council Tax Setting Panel Number of councillors: 4

Overview & Scrutiny Panel Number of councillors: 13

Salcombe Harbour Board

Number of members: Up to 10 (made up of four district councillors and six coopted members).

These bodies will discharge the functions described in the Delegation Scheme (Part 3).

7.3 Other Bodies

The Council will appoint Members to the following bodies:

Beach Management Working Group Number of councillors: 4

Design Review Panel

Number of councillors: 3. Number of officer representatives: 6. Architects: 3 Local town and parish councils: 2

Devon Building Control Partnership

Number of Councillors: 2 from South Hams DC, 2 from Teignbridge DC and 2 from West Devon BC

Discretionary Business Rate Relief Decision Panel Number of Councillors: 3

Joint SH/WD Economic Development Working Group Number of SH councillors: 3

Joint SH/WD Leisure Board Number of SH councillors: 3 from South Hams DC (and 3 from West Devon BC).

Joint SH/WD/Plymouth Local Plan Steering Group Number of SH councillors: 2

Joint Staff Consultative Forum

Appointments and composition to be delegated to the Group Leaders.

Invest to Earn Member Working Group Number of Members: 5

Political Structures Working Group

Number of councillors: 8

Public Spaces Working Group Number of councillors: 4

Slapton Line Steering Group Number of councillors: 2

SH/WD Joint Steering Group Number of SH Members: 4

Homeless Strategy Monitoring Group Number of Members: ?

Rate Relief Panel Number of Members: 2

Strategic Planning Working Group

Number of councillors: 6

Youth Engagement Working Group

Number of councillors: 4

These bodies will discharge the functions described in the Delegation Scheme (Part 3).

The setting up of Working Groups is only permitted with the approval of Council.